Box Cricket And Rink Football 2018

The much awaited Box Cricket & Rink Football organized by SIBM Pune by the Sports Management Team from 9th October to 24th October, 2018. With 24 teams participating in Box Cricket, 19 teams in Rink Football (Men’s) and for the very first time Girls Rink football was introduced having a total of 6 teams. This event consists of teams of each division competing against each other which brings out enthusiasm and competitive spirit.

Box Cricket - It’s a six on six a side tournament where in every team has 1 girl and 5 boys. The rules of box cricket are different from what we normally see in cricket tournaments. Since the matches were played in the knockout format, the margin of error for the teams was very less.

Rink Football (Men & Women) – This consists of 5 a side teams fighting out against each other and all the normal futsal rules are applied. The finished passes, wicked nutmegs and close calls left the audience amazed and awestricken.

With the support of the participants, the event ended successfully on the 24th October after many delays because of the bad weather. The Women’s football match was well enjoyed with both the teams consisting of members of both the batches making it a friendly yet a competitive match. Also, Richa Grover of MBA 1 bagged the title of best women player of the tournament in Box cricket.

The Box Cricket finals was played between teams “Rangoli Raiders” and “Ekka Ke Ikke” where ekka Ke Ikke consisting of Arpan Ekka, Ameya Prabhudesai, Naman Agarwal, Arpit Sharma, Neel Choksi & Gopal Shah & Pooja Kharat won the tournament by their excellent performance which was appreciated by the cheers in crowd. The Rink Football Men’s Finals was played between– “Innovators” and “Nothing But Net” where Nothing But Net consisting of Nishchchal Shrestha, Jehan Vesuna, Anmol Gill, Akshat Patel, Anshul Bhadouria & Shashwat Hota celebrated the win after a heart pounding match between both the teams. The Girls Rink Football Finals were held between “Spammers” and “Ground Gladiators” where Spammers consisting of Pooja Kharat, Ashwarya Mantri, Aarzoo Dashti, Manisha Bimali & Dimpy Khirwar won the tournament with their exemplary performance in the game.

The Day ended with winning hoots and cheers for the winners and runners up of tournament. The field was filled with Flashes flashing and laughter of joy in every corner uniting the family of SIBM to celebrate its victory.